Stand for Diabetes


Could you spare some time to help advise Diabetes NZ?

Diabetes NZ members are being urged to stand in this year’s Advisory Council elections, with four key positions – President, Vice-President, and two elected member representatives – being decided.

The 11-strong Advisory Council is responsible for providing consumer and advocacy advice to Diabetes NZ on a range of issues affecting people with diabetes and their families.

It was set up in 2012 with members drawn from diabetes experts from across the sector, including two elected directly by individual Diabetes NZ members. The rest are appointed and include regional representatives, clinical experts and representatives from Māori and Pacifica and youth diabetes groups.

The President, who also sits on the Board, and Vice-President will serve a three-year term, while the two elected member representatives will serve on the Advisory Council for two years.

Chief Executive Heather Verry said: “We would love to hear from any members interested in any of these four positions. The Advisory Council plays an important role advising Diabetes NZ on how we can improve life for people with diabetes locally and nationally, and by stepping up you will be helping us to continue to improve the services we provide across the country.”

Information about each role can be found in the Diabetes NZ Constitution (see s10 Advisory Council Members, s11 Role of President, and s12 Role of Vice-President).

Nomination forms can be downloaded here  or by phoning National Office on 0800 342 238.

Please indicate on the nomination form the position or positions you wish to stand for and include a brief biography (maximum 200 words) with your application.

These will be included with the voting papers for members. Nominations should be received via email or post to National Office by 5pm Friday 6 July 2018.

The successful candidates will be officially announced at Diabetes NZ’s National conference and AGM on 17 November 2018.


Nominations open 14 May 2018

Nominations close 6 July 2018

Election papers sent to members 1 August 2018

Postal voting closes 24 August 2018

Nominees advised of outcome 7 September 2018

Positions formally announced, and terms officially start at AGM 17 November 2018.

Jo Chapman